APC National Youth Leader Commends His Party for Adding Age Clause on Youth Leadership, Names Strategic Engagement Committee


On behalf of the millions of young people in our great party the All Progressives Congress, I commend our leaders for adopting parts of the recommendations of the recently concluded National Progressives Youth Conference as part of the guidelines for the conduct of the upcoming ward, local government and state congresses of our party.

The Caretaker Committee led by H.E Mai Mala Buni has been kind enough to include, among other things the age clause thus ''All persons vying for the position of a youth leader in the Wards must be persons aged between 18-35years’'.

This action has rekindled the hopes of millions of Progressive youths who until now had been dispirited from participating in the party activities and holding elective leadership positions within the party especially at the grassroots level.

The leadership of our party are very aware must that the inclusion of this part of our communique and other parts that will also be considered, is and will be seen by many young people as a call to ownership of a platform that needs the energy, vigor, and intellect of the youth. And this guideline, although just a restatement of our already existing written laws, is a demonstration of genuine efforts to create a space for youth participation at the local level of participatory politics in the party.

On our part, we will take this further by setting up Strategic Engagement Committees which will work in conjunction with caretaker youth leaders in the various zones that will engage Governors, Legislators, Ministers, and other leaders and stakeholders in every zone to get more young people to occupy large percentages of the executives at the ward and LG levels.

We believe since the battle of the forthcoming elections will be fought for the youth vote, then it is wise for our party to Right that battle with the youth voice.

I am also using this opportunity to call on all young progressives to use the occasion of the Sallah break to engage with youths in their wards and polling units. Sensitize them aggressively on the need to be part of the congresses and advance the cause of our progressive movement.

The Chairman of the CECPC has approved for the Youth Wing of the APC to set up zonal strategic lobby committees that will engage party leaders at state and local levels to lobby for the full inclusion and participation of young people in the forthcoming Congresses.

The committees are to engage with Party Leaders, Governors, Legislators, Ministers, Elders and other critical stakeholders within their zones in ensuring that at least many party positions are manned by youths at the lower levels so as to attract the energy, commitment, and brains of young people in running the affairs of the party and giving them a sense of ownership and therefore commitment.

Below is the list of the committees for each geo-political zone with at least one person picked from every state in the respective zone. They are to work in conjunction and consultation with the interim youth leaders in their respective domains for maximum impact.

There is also a National Youth Lobby Group set up to meet with Leaders at National for effective delivery of the Youth Mandate.

Our expectation is that the congresses whether by consensus or contests will throw up many young and committed members of the party at the ward level as leaders that would invigorate the party.



1 Barr. Ismaeel Ahmed

2 H.E. Edward Onoja

2 Hon. Ibrahim Tukura

3 Kabir Aregbesola

4 Hon. Dasuki Jalo

5 Dr. Sunusi Ohiare

6 Asuquo Ekpenyong Jr.

7 Hon. Princess Miriam Onuoha

8 Dr. Kashifu Inuwa

9 Musa Yola

10 Hon. Shina Peller

11 Hon. Chris Okaeben

12 Hon Chinedu Ogah

13 Ms. Moji Rhodes

14 Egghead Odewale

16 Ife Adebayo

17 Ikem Isiekwena

18 Ibrahim Bagudu

19 Dr. Shariff Al-Muhajjir

20 Ahmed Zakari (Santuraki)

21. Afeez Repete




1 Pharmacist Jamiu Asuku

2 Hon. Emmanuel Umar

3 Abubakar Kwali

4 Ibrahim Abdullahi

5 Mark Hamnation

6 Hon. Alice Dimlong

7 Mohammed Braimah

8 Juwairat Abdulsalam

9 Dominic Alancha

10 Oyeyemi Olasumbo Florence

North East

S/N Name

1 Dr. Goje Muhammad

2 Grema Terab

3 Musa Usman Terrang

4 Barr. Muzammil

5 Idris Ayuba

6 Ibrahim Hassan Alkaleri

7 Umar Waziri Kumo

8 Daniel Bwala

9 Aisha Haruna (Inna)

10 Abdulqadir Jajere

North West

S/N Name

1 Hon. Abubakar Muhammad Jalo

2 Hon. Murtala Sule Garo

3 Hafiz Bayero

4 Dahiru Mani

5 Barr. Shehu Marshal

6 Suleiman Mahmuda

7 Engr. Babangida Abdullahi

8 Hon. Kasim Mutallab

9 Engr. Mustafa Gunduwawa

10 Bello Shagari

South East

S/N Name

1 Rt. Hon. Amarachi Iwuanyanwu

2 Chika Raymond Aniemena

3 Okeke Daniel

4 Titus Nnamani

5 Rt. Hon. Nweke Boniface Ojimide

6 Odoh Ogechuckwu Peace

7 Dr. Obinna Ebirim

8 Obidike  Chukwuebuka

9 Chinedu Onyeizu

10 Mazi Okorafor Peter

South West

S/N Name

1 Tolu Ibitola

2 Bisoye Coker

3 Titilope Gbadamosi

4 Babajide Akeredolu

5 Kazeem Aro Balogun

6 Babalola Ahmed Akanji

7 Lanre Oyegboola

8 Dayo Iyaniwura

10 Bayo Adenekan

 South South

S/N Name

1 Barr. Chizy Enyi

2 Cole Amos

3 Emmanuel Sampson

4 Ejiro Etaghene Esq.

5 Philip Obin

6 Barr. Oyanbo Owei

7 Sweet Ikponwomnsa

8 Olorogun Henry Oshasha

9 Stella Coker

10 Ubong Thompson