Ogun: Abiodun To Swear In Eight Newly Appointed Judges Tomorrow

The Ogun State governor, Dapo Abiodun has approved the appointment of eight new judges into the State Judiciary.

The appointment is sequel to the recommendation of the National Judiciary Commission at its 100th meeting held on January 18, 2023 and in accordance with the provision of Section 271 Sub-section (2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).

A statement issued this Sunday in Abeokuta by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Kunle Somorin, noted that the new judges appointment is based on seniority, competence and track record.

Those to be sworn-in at a ceremony slated for the June 12 Cultural Centre, Abeokuta, according to Somorin, include the Chief Registrar, High Court of Justice, Ogun State, Oluwafunke Omolara Odubanjo, Esq; Chief Magistrate, Ogun State Judiciary, Awofeso Ireti-Olu Babatunde; Deputy Chief Registrar, High Court of Justice, Ogun State, Adelaja Adeola Ireti; Solicitor-General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Ogun State, Adebayo Bamidele Adedapo and Secretary, Judiciary Service Commission, Ogun State, Basirat Bolanle Adebowale

Others are; Ayodele Adebayo Omoniyi, a Private Legal Practitioner based in Ilaro; Sunday Olufemi Adeniyi, a Private Legal Practitioner based in Lagos and Abimbola Christopher Shokunbi, a Private Legal Practitioner also based in Lagos.

The appointment, the statement further stated, is part of the administration's efforts to reposition the state judicial system for more effective, efficient and quick dispensation of justice across the state.